top of page
  • Poza scriitoruluiDan Eremciuc

Plot & Story/Song analysis

Song analysis: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2MHhLDCJ57E

Death Grips - No Love


https://genius.com/1133671


Further developing our analysis of Death grips, we chose “No Love” as a basis for our music video. The music video for “No Love”, as opposed to “I’ve Seen Footage” is much more straightforward and less chaotic - at least by this band’s standards. It is simply a recording of the band playing the song live, switching from handheld to fixed shots displaying the shenanigans of the trio. Alongside this, a chromatic aberration is overlaid throughout the duration of the video. Lyrics are not visualised at any point.

However, at some points sequential phrases are strewn across the screen; the supposed ‘narrator’ uses explicit language to illustrate his aggressive disinterest throughout successive days. In five instances, a freezeframe with a saturated palette, accompanied by big, bold text “what it says” and a distorted bagpipe-like synth snippet plays. This results in the viewer feeling some discomfort and initial shock, further emphasising the drug fueled shock episodes (alongside the other effects) this song wants to convey.

Why was it produced/appeal: Death Grips has a history of making songs that please their own creative desire, with little outside influence/restrictions over the themes explored and lyrics sung. This is one of their main appeals, this individuality when compared to the rest of the music industry make them instantly stand out along with garnering a devoted fan base that admire their devotion to staying true to their core values and not “selling out”.


Some speculate that this song has a double meaning, that of a bad acid trip along with MC Ride(vocalist) torturing someone, that being most likely himself. This song takes the listener on a journey throughout a “bad trip” after some form of drug, most likely acid, was consumed. The violent lyricism along with the aggressive delivery, further emphasised by the glitchy editing and abrupt stops with piercing audio design serve to solidify the message of this song. This raw product proved to be a

fan favourite due to its uniqueness and aggression.


 


[Intro]


How the trip never stops

On and on, it's beyond insane

Why I set myself up

In a raging sea of flames?



[Hook]

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a-



[Verse 1]

Never not on it, leanin' so hard you're ashamed

You can't dismiss this sick transmission, huffs your brain

Exhale your will and forget I ever knew you

F*** do you do?

F*** a man with hips for hulu

Rack a snitch, chalk and cue you

Corner pocket consume you

Too many hoes in my

Too many hoes in my motherf***in' meal

Asking if I know how a motherf***er feels

How a motherf***er feels

Slit them choke

, flip them boat

Dead b**** float, swollen corpse

No remorse, navigated off course

Of course I can make you scream but if you ask for more

Bulls***, matador, grab the floor, whip it cracked to all fours

You whimper while I check my phone

Who's next? Assassin roam

Music drifts, I have no home

Choose this life you're on your own


[Hook]

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a-


[Bridge]

Swallowed way too much

Couldn't handle it, I fell

Down a spiral

Staircase winding to hell


[Verse 2]

F*** it, now I can't quit, will never be the same

I got that attitude, you got no thang

I'm fit to hurt you; gives a f*ck about the way I move weight?

Dark matter, flu state of consciousness

Blew straight through you won't do s***

But beg me to do this

Again and again and again and again (No love, no love)

Strangler clutch, sine wave deconstruct

My way or no way, bangin' hey makin' lust

Lucid nut shake

shake it up

Booyakah

You're a b**** made to be crushed

Came like, what

Now you crave my, touch

Flat busted on front street cake cuppin'

Say you wasn't lion mane

I done been done with tame

Head hunter, f*** the fame

Switch lanin' ripper slangin'

Hit me nuclear wind at my back

Smokin' goldfish at the photo mat

Load my clap clap can't trust 'em never did


[Hook]

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a beatdown

Madness, chaos in the brain

Let my blood flow, make my blood flow through you, mane

You got no business questioning a thang

You're fit to learn the proper meaning of a-


1 afișare0 comentarii

Postări recente

Afișează-le pe toate

Graphic elements

The only graphic elements used in both digipaks are the barcodes, which are the standard model, we wanted to choose a more rectangular ...

Comentários


bottom of page